Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to road biking, i have about 120 miles on my first road bike, a specialized roubaix. I was cleaning it last night and noticed a small length of what looks like a piece of an O-ring sticking out from between the bottom bracket and crank. It's about 1/2" sticking straight out, which would mean if it is indeed an o-ring, it's broken.
I'm not familiar with the inner workings of the bottom bracket, new to wrenching too, so I haven't had one apart yet. Are there o-rings in there? How worried should I be about this? Do I need to get it to my LBS before I ride again? Nothing is loose or making noise.

Thanks!
Mike

·
Registered
49 Posts
According the Specialized web page, your bike has an FSA Gossamer Mega EXO crank and bottom bracket. The bottom bracket cups sit outside the frame. There are a few 0-rings in this setup.
1) A rubber coated crush ring that sits between the left BB-cup and the frame to account for variations in the bb shell width of different frames.
2) Two small blueish 0-rings that go on the crank spindle, between the crank arms and the inner bearing race of the BB to ensure that the bearing is loaded correctly and to prevent contact between the crank and the rest of the bb.

From your post it sounds like one of these smaller blueish O-rings has broken and is sticking out. It also sounds like this isn't (yet) causing you any problems, but if it ever comes out fully it certainly will (which seems just a question of time). I'd suggest you take it to the place where you got the bike and have them replace the O-ring. It should be a very quick repair.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·