Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5,263 Posts
1)ebay links are a no-no last I checked.

But to be of some help, I'd say real. Obviously had the money to spend on components and the backstory is better than most. He even has a serial number that you can go follow up.

That same model on Pinarello's site.
CICLI PINARELLO S.p.A.

Only the fork looks different, that could be due to pre-production changes.

Part of me wants to go to a "Forget it" rant. Pinarello has been suffering as a subject of imitation and cliche among the most casual of rich-enough riders. I know each to their own and you're out for a special bike, but Dogma's have been rather unoriginal because of all this. I really don't think you're at risk for a fake bike, but if you're still insecure about it, with all those downsides I'd say forget it.

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
I'm no Pina expert. But I have looked into a fair number of fake ads. This looks OK to me.

·
Pathlete and Pedalphile
3,182 Posts
This is a no-brainer. Ask the seller for a photo of the serial number on the frame and contact Pinarello with the number and ask if the frame is genuine. They'll respond in 24-48 hours.
Seller posted a picture of the serial number on the frame in his ad.

·
Registered
3,947 Posts
And how do we know the bike wasn't stolen?
Considering the seller has an E-Bay score of 502 and 100% feedback, and considering the only neutral comment he has received was because he didn't thoroughly wash the poop stains out of some used bibshorts he sold, I'm going to say that perhaps washing clothes is not one of his strengths, but that he's an honest seller selling a genuine Pinarello Dogma that is not stolen and has a serial number that has not been stolen either.

·
Registered
9,666 Posts