Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Yes, I am a newbie to the sport...........I made the conversion from MTB just last year, and I haven't ridden a trial since.

So I am moving into a more focused and educated training phase of road riding and I just can't figure out what you should measure with cadence and what cadence tells you about your cycling goals. The cadence function is on my Cateye computer but I am still a bit confused about what to attain. Is there a website that explains this or a good recommendation on a book?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

·
Registered
2,745 Posts
Every person has a diffrent ideal cadence...
new wisdom ie. the lance school of thought sez fast cadence = fast up hill
but jan is a gear masher... so really, finding what works best for you is best.
but use it as a measuring figure. jan can still spin very fast if he needs to he just perfers not.

I like mixing up my cadence just to give my legs somthing new.

you heart rate and power output are really the more important aspects to look at...

IMO

·
Registered
3,095 Posts
Jan is only a relative gear masher, though, isn't he? Doesn't he still climb at 85-90, which is still a faster cadence than a lot of people climb? It isn't 120, but it's not 65, either.

·
Registered
2,745 Posts
bill said:
Jan is only a relative gear masher, though, isn't he? Doesn't he still climb at 85-90, which is still a faster cadence than a lot of people climb? It isn't 120, but it's not 65, either.
quite right. Relative to the top GC and climbers. He is often at a high cadence but he seams to pick a big gear at times on the climb. I wonder if he is fighting his urge to mash but it even comes out on the steeps of the dolomites.

a strange related note. I swear, every time a commentator marvles at lances high spin he's got someone behind or ahead spinning a lot faster. But when they keep quiet his knees are really flying...

·