Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I am new to road cycling and using this site to expand my knowledge. I have read plenty of hate threads about the new Masi bikes. That being said, I purchased a new 2007 Masi Vincere for $700 being clearanced out. I purchased it mainly because of the 10 speed 105 groupset with Ultegra Rear Derailleur. I am 5'9" and weight 195lb, bought the bike to get in better shape. Here are the specs:

Crankset: TruVativ Elita C 2.0 w/ Giga X-Pipe integrated BB; 50/34
Bottom Bracket: TruVativ Integrated w/ Crankset
Freewheel: Shimano 105 10 Speed 11-25
Handlebars: Ritchey 6061 31.8mm
Stem: Masi ATS Adjustable Height System
Hubset / Wheelset: Shimano R500
Tires: Vittoria Zaffiro 23c Wire Bead
Brakes: Shimano BR560 Cold Forged Dual Pivot

I have already installed Shimano SPD-M520 clipless pedals. I am on tight budget or I would have bought a more expensive bike. I am just curious what change could make the most impact for the buck.

Thanks in advance!

· passive/aggressive
236 Posts
you could dump the stem once you find the length and rise that suit you, that would drop a few ounces, otherwise just ride it and replace parts as they wear out.

Usually the best location for upgrades is the wheelset. You can easily lose considerable weight with a new wheelset and it is in the most important location, rotating mass, that said it is sometimes better to run a stouter stronger wheel set when you are learning so that you don't ruin a nice new expensive set.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I will abuse my wheel set then replace. Have any suggestions on Wheelsets and tires that don't break the bank?

· Registered
1,931 Posts
FatTireFred said:
if you're a n00b on a tight budget, just ride the thing and don't worry about upgrading...