Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I reclaimed an absolutely beautiful English lugged steel Roberts frame from the local dumpster. I have had it converted to a single speed, adding Mavic Ellipse wheels and it is a beautiful ride. It came with Mafac brakes which are nice but really don't have terrific stopping power so I am looking for new brakes. The Mavic wheels are 700c and the previous wheels are 27 1/4. I ordered some Pauls and although they look terrific, they mount too close and hit the rubber. I then ordered some Tektro long reach and they cannot be mounted because the brake posts are in the way of the long reach arms (this style of brake didn't look right anyway). Currently I have put the Mafacs back on, but living in a very hilly area, it is a bit disconcerting not having great confidence in my stopping power.
As you can probably tell by this note, I am not a bike mechanic (far from it), but I sure would appreciate any suggestions you may have on brakes that have greater adjustability to fit onto the 700c wheels. From reading various posts on this forum, it appears there are some very knowledgeable singlespeeders/bike tech types out there. Thanks for any help you can provide.

·
Done with winter.
2,635 Posts
Have you tried other brake pads? Koolstop Salmons maybe? I used the Koolstop Continental pad in salmon (smaller size to fit) on an older bike with horrible brakes and they improved the braking pretty well.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·