Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to all, I'm new to cycling and i discovered the most rewarding sport in the planet, that is road biking. Great exercise, great rewards(beautiful places, lots of burned fats). I'm in the market of buying my first REAL road bike and found great reviews on giant defy 3 2013(Full sora group) as good entry level bike which cost 780 USD. As i visit my LBS lately, i found a slightly used GIANT TCR 1 2010, full 105 grouppo with Xero xgr-1 tires for 950 USD. I can tell that the bike is really fresh from paint to components so i'm confused now what to buy. Pls help me decide, your advice is very much appreciated.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Buy the one that fits and most of all the one that makes you want to get out and ride it.

Thanks dude for that fast reply, but both bikes fits really well. Im 169cm, the size is small. What really concerns me now is which bike will have the best value for my money considering that tcr 1 is old and defy 3 is new.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
Thanks dude for that fast reply, but both bikes fits really well. Im 169cm, the size is small. What really concerns me now is which bike will have the best value for my money considering that tcr 1 is old and defy 3 is new.
We all want value for money spent, but you're going to have the bike a long time - and hopefully spend a lot of time on it, so you want to get it right.

In that vein, you're looking at a relaxed geo bike (Defy) and a race bike (TCR). Unless they were both set up the same (which is doubtful) it's unlikely they'd both feel the same after any time in the saddle. The Defy offers a slightly more upright riding position and slightly slower handling. The TCR, more aggressive positioning/ quicker handling.

To determine your preference, I suggest riding both back to back (out on the roads, and for some duration) before deciding.