Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Better eye candy: traditional frame bike or compact geometry frame bike?

• traditional

Votes: 88 60.7%
  • compact

Votes: 47 32.4%
  • other

Votes: 10 6.9%
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Banned
2,302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I decided to start this bc I think traditional framed bikes look better (more frame, less components and I prefer the beauty of a frame over components), but I get the impression that a lot of people find the compacts more aesthetically pleasing. So let's see what the consensus is amont RBR'ers. I'm sure there will be a lot of loyalty to what the person rides.

edit: I started riding in 86, am old school (friction shifters), and have only ever owned traditional frames.

·
Incredibly slow
545 Posts
Since you are only asking aesthetics, for me the traditional geometry looks best (especially with chrome lugs and a quill stem, and yes I am an old fart). I don't mind a slightly rising top tube either, but I don't like the really compact designs. They look to me more like the manufacturer saved money by using a hardtail mountain bike frame design.

Functionally, Rocco has the right answer.

·
Banned
2,767 Posts
Geez. Who cares? Another poll that pigeon holes people and that doesn't offer real choices.

·
Banned
2,302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
that's why I included "other", like the other choices it gives people the option to explain themselves (like Terry B did). What other choices should I have included other than "other"? I think this simple survey accomplishes what I was trying to accomplish best.

·
Banned
2,767 Posts
Friction_Shifter said:
that's why I included "other", like the other choices it gives people the option to explain themselves (like Terry B did). What other choices should I have included other than "other"? I think this simple survey accomplishes what I was trying to accomplish best.

Well, then here: maybe A; maybe B; maybe C; maybe none of the above.

·
Not Banned
49,013 Posts