Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
had it in the ear before
Joined
·
13,965 Posts
Agreed. and unfortunately i have a Bears fan next to me trying to justify it to everyone that walks by:(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
even tho im a die hard eagles fan...................it does suck what happened with the Lions, they seem to never catch a break, they lost the QB earlier in the game as well
 

·
your text here
Joined
·
13,192 Posts
i have spoekn with 4 bears fans who:
1) thought it was a catch
2) wanted it to be a catch
3) hoped the bears to lose after lovie decided to go for it on 4th down

in regards to #3: three attempts to get 2 feet and you cant do it? kick the field goal, get the lead against a team who is now using their backup QB, and control the game.

in other field goal news, when washington took the points off the board i was nervous they would look back and wish they had those three points back. then they botched the second attempt from much closer. ouch. lucky for them they won.

i think we saw two coaches fire themselves this week.
 

·
It's not TOO Cold!
Joined
·
2,498 Posts
Dumba$$ needs to learn to hold on to the ball. Showboaters always lose.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,644 Posts
That was a catch, poor Lions
 

·
Genitive Declensioner
Joined
·
12,146 Posts
Tommy Walker said:
That was a catch, poor Lions
yep, robbed.

I always thought possession across the goal line + knee or elbow or feet down = TD.
 

·
Farmguy
Joined
·
573 Posts
I thought it was a catch as well, but, they explained that you have to "maintain possession all the way thru the catching motion" ????

So, if that is right, 2 feet inbounds, then juggles, falls out of bounds but than maintains controls its a catch..WTF????
 

·
Registered
Escorted from the White House
Joined
·
36,561 Posts
Either retarded refs, or a retarded rule. Either way, Lions got the shaft. That was a terrific TD catch.
.
 

·
Windrider (Stubborn)
Joined
·
22,021 Posts
The rule is pretty clear.........
It wasn't a catch under the rules.......
The refs interpreted the rule correctly.........

It's an absolutly stupid rule, unfortunatly, it is the rule and the fact that a professional receiver didn't know the rule and started celebrating early is not an excuse.

The coaching staff knows the rule....the fact that they didn't make sure the receiver did is bad coaching.

Again, it's a stupid rule and the Lions suffered for it.

If he doesn't start celebrating and keeps both hands on the ball, it's a touchdown.

len
 

·
Master debator.
Joined
·
8,761 Posts
Agreed. Unfortunately under the rules it wasn't a catch, and maybe the rule needs some revision. But it won't affect the outcome of that play. It sure looked good, up until the ball came out.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
54 Posts
Len J said:
The rule is pretty clear.........
It wasn't a catch under the rules.......
The refs interpreted the rule correctly.........

It's an absolutly stupid rule, unfortunatly, it is the rule and the fact that a professional receiver didn't know the rule and started celebrating early is not an excuse.

The coaching staff knows the rule....the fact that they didn't make sure the receiver did is bad coaching.

Again, it's a stupid rule and the Lions suffered for it.

If he doesn't start celebrating and keeps both hands on the ball, it's a touchdown.

len
Huh? That's about about as dumb a statement as the rule. Did you watch the play? He was not celebrating when he hit the ground and rolled over.
 

·
Windrider (Stubborn)
Joined
·
22,021 Posts
dontbetoomuchofa said:
Huh? That's about about as dumb a statement as the rule. Did you watch the play? He was not celebrating when he hit the ground and rolled over.
I did watch the play, he took his other hand off the ball and was beginning the celebration...he said as much in the post game.

As to the rest of your statement, what part do you think was dumb?

Len
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
54 Posts
catch or non catch

Let's look at another scenario. A receiver goes up and catches the ball in one hand, landing with two feet in bounds. In one sweeping motion, he bends over and places the ball on the ground. No cerebration, just walks away. Catch or no catch?
 

·
Gronk SMASH!
Joined
·
1,973 Posts
Len J said:
It's an absolutly stupid rule, unfortunatly, it is the rule and the fact that a professional receiver didn't know the rule and started celebrating early is not an excuse.

The coaching staff knows the rule....the fact that they didn't make sure the receiver did is bad coaching.

Again, it's a stupid rule and the Lions suffered for it.

If he doesn't start celebrating and keeps both hands on the ball, it's a touchdown.

len
Not sure you're entirely right that he was celebrating "early." He was falling backward and twisting and - in part - used the hand with the ball to help brace his fall.

That said, next time he will clutch that ball to his body in the vise-like grip a game-winning TD catch requires.

As for the rule, you're right, it's stupid.
 

·
Adventure Seeker
Joined
·
5,115 Posts
Looks like he let go of the ball after he was down. I see plays like that all the time out of the end zone that are called catches.
The Lions deserve the win, and the Bears are just a disappointment of a team.
I don't see how it could be interpreted as he dropped the ball. He had both feet and took a step and still had ahold of it as he was falling. After he hit, he let go.
 

·
What the what???
Joined
·
12,714 Posts
Agreed. It was a catch. He didn't bobble the ball. He was clearly setting it down as he got up and he had control of it all the way through to that point. Call a cop, the Lions got robbed.
 
1 - 20 of 40 Posts
Top