Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Overtaxed RBR member
475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all...new member here but I have been on MTBR for a while.
I am an expert mountain bike racer and avid roadie from Philadelphia. My company is starting a new department in Atlanta and they want me to move there. I have never been south of N. Carolina(but I have been out west). I am kind of leery about moving away from here because even though the winters can suck, the cycling scene here is good.
What is the road riding like there?
What is the city like?
:confused:
The guys on MTBR said the mountain biking is good although they didn't say how the racing scene is.
Thanks in advance for your input.

· Registered
31 Posts
Riding in Atlanta can be tricky. If you move to one of the suburbs, you will have all the country roads you want with hills galore. We are in the foothills here. If you move to a congested area, traffic can be a problem. We drive very fast here.

There is lots of riding, some great rides, teams and training groups. You can ride 12 months out of the year and find any kind of riding you want.:)

· Registered
714 Posts
I am in-town. Right in the heart of Atlanta.

Despite being a cycling unfriendly city, the road racing scene here is very strong. Lots of clubs and lots of riders.

PM me if you want the lowdown on clubs, rides, etc.

BTW: if you like gridlock, you'll love Atlanta's suburbs! This metro area is a place where
smaller house + reverse commute = improved quality of live.

· Registered
73 Posts
As mentioned, the road scene here is very good, lots of rides with some decent quality riders.
Between GA, TN and NC there are a lot of MTB and road races, should be enough to keep you quite happy and within reasonable driving distance.

If you want proximity to the best mountainbiking I recommend living on the northern side. No great trails real close to the city but a bunch of great trails in the N. GA mtns.