Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On only the third ride with my 2017 Roubaix Elite, had my first crash (dog got away from it's owner chasing a squirrel and ran into my rear wheel). Right hood is a bit scuffed, and I saw no other damage until i flipped the bike over to put it in the car.

There is damage under the top tube. I am new to carbon bikes, but from the picture should i be concerned about structural integrity or any issues down the road? I rode the bike 10 miles after hitting the deck, and everything felt normal. The damage area is smaller than the fingernail of a pinky finger.

Should I put clear fingernail polish or anything over the area to protect it?

Yellow White Colorfulness Black Grey

·
Registered
27,471 Posts
On only the third ride with my 2017 Roubaix Elite, had my first crash (dog got away from it's owner chasing a squirrel and ran into my rear wheel). Right hood is a bit scuffed, and I saw no other damage until i flipped the bike over to put it in the car.

There is damage under the top tube. I am new to carbon bikes, but from the picture should i be concerned about structural integrity or any issues down the road? I rode the bike 10 miles after hitting the deck, and everything felt normal. The damage area is smaller than the fingernail of a pinky finger.

Should I put clear fingernail polish or anything over the area to protect it?

View attachment 316848
Ride the hell out of it. Whack up some hills out of the saddle and see if that little blemish gets worse.

Top tubes can be dented, or considerably weakened, but don't have to absorb hardly any torsional loads, so don't come apart, that is, reach their point of material failure over time. They stay pretty much passive in the scheme of things.

I would dab some touch up paint on it and ride. Keep an eye on it to see if it grows! :shocked: I bet it won't.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·