Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Honey Smack!
7,990 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've managed to get my company as an auxilary sponsor for a local crit series (which I'm doing my first race ever in this coming Tuesday...)

What would you want to see as a Prime for around the 30-40 buck mark?

I'm still kind of new to this so not sure what's common? Wanted? Groaned over?

etc.

and if you're in the Little Rock, AR area...

http://www.competitivecyclist.com/ronderesults

come join us!

· Premium Member
15,996 Posts
The only thing people are really willing to sprint for is cash, those bike racers are a greedy bunch!

Gift certificates aren't a bad call either.

Some bike-related merchandise can be all right, but people groan over "random sponsor's product."

A friend in a men's 3's race once won a prime that was a basket of assorted lotions and grooming products from a sponsor. That was good for a laugh...

Sylint said:
So I've managed to get my company as an auxilary sponsor for a local crit series (which I'm doing my first race ever in this coming Tuesday...)

What would you want to see as a Prime for around the 30-40 buck mark?

I'm still kind of new to this so not sure what's common? Wanted? Groaned over?

etc.

and if you're in the Little Rock, AR area...

http://www.competitivecyclist.com/ronderesults

come join us!

465 Posts
Think of the things that aren't expensive but need replaced all the time on the bike, bar tape, tires, chain, tubes.

Then there's clothing, jersey's t-shirts, gloves, or even food, a lot of chipotle burritos coupons are prime prizes in my area.

But the one that seems to always get the most people going for the prime is cash. Give someone the money they paid in entry fee and the race is a success for them, and easily justifies it to the significant other.

· always right sometimes
1,836 Posts
If you can get a bike company to sell you something at cost...spending $40 could end up being a pretty nice prize!