Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys first post.

Just got my campa groupset (it's beautiful:blush2: ) and this is my first time building a bike. How do I loosen the "rim" enough so that if will fit through my handle bars? I have real trouble getting to the mounting bolt under the rubber cover so I'm thinking I might be doing it wrong. Do I need to take the whole rubber cover off? Pealing it back woun't give me enough room. Also if I understood correctly the tightening "rim" only has about .4mm (23.8-24.2mm)space and I doubt that enough for it to find trough the bar?

I tried using the campa instructions, but they are quite fast forward :D Same thing with park tool. There's no way I can acces it like in the pic below. That's the old shifter model.

Thanks alot!

Olli

EDIT: I ordered a long T25 tool. that should take care of it.

·
Registered
165 Posts
I had my brother's help with my new Centaur shifter install and he's done plenty of Campy. It was a very tight fit to get a wrench in there. Isn't it Torx? I don't remember, but anyway, I remember it was very difficult to get the hood pulled back far enough to even fit a wrench in there too. I put them on and don't think I'll move them - too much of a pain (versus my Shimano I'm coming from).

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
jmkimmel said:
I just pulled the whole hood off to access the screw - no problem then.
which way do you pull the hood of? didn't see any mention in the instructions. was it hard to get back in place?

·
Registered
2,275 Posts
yeah just pull off the hood from back to front. Dowse the inside of the hood with alcohol when putting back on, helps a lot. It is NOT a hex bolt. Use a Torx 25 driver.

·
Registered
813 Posts
I can access my 2009 Centaur bolt easily with a Torx-25 key. Just the normal L-shaped key works fine for me. You could try a t-wrench too, i suppose.

·
Registered
966 Posts