Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Bikespace member
4,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i got a set of paul's neo-retros off ebay and was going to install them on my cx bike, however i ran into a problem. the paul's don't seat on the posts at all. there's a little sleave in the brake arm pivot that goes about 2/3 down the post and stops and if i remove the sleave, the arm only goes about 3/4 down the post and is loose. do i need some kind of adapter? am i installing them wrong?

i posted this in wrenching too...

·
Registered
35 Posts
Last I knew, all brake studs were a standard length. What kind of fork are you trying to install these on. Can you post any pictures? I've been using these brakes for about 4-5 years and have never seen this problem. If they are longer than standard, you can buy new studs from any bike shop. QBP keeps them in stock.

·
Bikespace member
4,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
they're on a mid-late 90's waterford. i was running a cheap pair of shimano brakes before without problems.

i'll see if i can get pictures up later tomorrow afternoon.

·
Bikespace member
4,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
here's a pic of my problem. the sleeve only goes partially down the post, thus the arm goes only as far as the sleeve leaving the rest of the post exposed.

·
I live near Igloo's
124 Posts
moschika said:
here's a pic of my problem. the sleeve only goes partially down the post, thus the arm goes only as far as the sleeve leaving the rest of the post exposed.
Mine are the same way. I guess that's how its supposed to be. I've been running them like that for three years now, with no problems.:idea:

·
Registered
508 Posts
moschika said:
Does the spring fit into the hole in the fork? If so, when you start torquing the bolt on the caliper, you will load hte spring and all is well. I believe my IF steel fork looks similar to what you describe. Can you take a photo of what the caliper looks like when bolted on with the spring?