Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie, and this is probably a simple question, but I have a new Trek Domane 2. It is the 2020 model. I from what I can tell from the Trek web site it has a Shimano Claris R2000, 8 speed shifter, and based on the back tire there are 8 gears there so I think that is correct. In the winter want to be able to ride the bike on my wahoo kicker. When I went to the bike store the only cassette they had was the Shimano CS5700 11-25T which is a has 10 gears. I've adjusted the tension on the derailleur, but that doesn't seem to do anything. The 4 big gears and the small one seem to work, but not the other ones. What do I need to do to fix this?

·
Registered
18,624 Posts
I have a new Trek Domane 2. It is the 2020 model. I from what I can tell from the Trek web site it has a Shimano Claris R2000, 8 speed shifter, and based on the back tire there are 8 gears
When I went to the bike store the only cassette they had was the Shimano CS5700 11-25T which is a has 10 gears.
What do I need to do to fix this?
You need to get a cassette with 8 gears. There is no other option.

Did you tell the bike shop that your bike was 8 speed? If so they never should have sold you a 10 speed cassette.

·
Registered
4,608 Posts
I find it hard to believe a 2020 Domane has a 8 spd cassette. Check that again, did you buy the bike new or used, maybe someone switched the parts around.
Order one on amazon or have your bike store order one for you.

·
Registered
18,624 Posts
I find it hard to believe a 2020 Domane has a 8 spd cassette. Check that again, did you buy the bike new or used, maybe someone switched the parts around.
All you have to do is look at the Trek website. Pretty easy to believe. (even the 2021 model)

Front derailleur Shimano Claris R2000, 31.8mm clamp
Rear derailleur Shimano Claris R2000, long cage, 34T max cog
Cassette Shimano HG31, 11-32, 8 speed

·
Registered
3 Posts