Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. I'm a newb to the road bike scene and I have what may very well be a stupid question, but I am curious about this. When I ride my mtb I wear a camelback and I store my pump in it as well as a multi tool and some other things that I need when I go out riding. When I ride my road bike though, I'm gonna throw a set of bottle cages on my bike so I won't need my camelback. Here's my question though. Where do you guys carry your pumps when you ride. I was looking at some bike pics in the gallery on here and i didn't see anyone with pumps mounted on their bikes. I was just wondering where you put them. Also, aside from a pump and patch kit, what other items are necessary to bring along for a ride. Thanks in advance guys for your replies.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
13,390 Posts
I carry my pump in my jersey pocket. Unless you're riding tubular tires, take at least 1 extra tube, patch kit, tire levers, pump, and a rag. I use an underseat wedge bag to carry all that. I wrap everything tightly in the rag, which keeps it from rattling while riding. Also comes in handy for wiping your hands after changing a tire.

Other necessities are cell phone, a small multi tool, and a $20 wrapped up in the rag with the rest of the stuff.

·
You're Not the Boss of Me
7,749 Posts
I use a frame pump (Zefal HPX) mounted along the top tube, but you'll also see mini pumps attached at the bottle cage and/or CO2 cartridges stashed in a jersey poket.

I think Mr. Versatile's list does it for the average ride. Here in Colorado, anything in the mountains (and sometimes even in the flats) also requires carrying a rain jacket because of our summer monsoons and otherwise changeable weather. I don't carry a rag but I probably should. I've certainly wished for one at times...

·
Downhill Juggernaut
1,673 Posts