Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the brain trust!

I found a NOS Centurion Elite that looks like early 80s for sale in my area. Upon doing research into Centurions, as I had not really run into them much before (still a total newbie in the C&V bike space), I found that the Centurion Elite's should have Tange #2 tubing (according to the late Sheldon Brown). The sticker on the seat tube for this specific bike says Champion #5 though. Can anyone clear that one up for me?

Also, regarding steel in general, how much does the weight and wall thickness change the ride quality? For example, how different does a Tange 2 vs 5 bike feel? Or a Columbus SL vs SLX or Reynolds 531 vs 853? I am a clydesdale (6'5" and 215 lb); should I worry at all about the type of steel when looking at vintage bikes?

Thanks!

·
Registered
248 Posts
Try this.......

Good read:
Magnificent 7

Sheldon is a great site but I remember Elite's being low end so Champion 5 is probably appropriate.

I thing the skill of the builder is much more important than the tubing, I have custom frames that are a mix like SL and SP.

At your weight you might be at the recommended limit for some tubing like Columbus EL which was or is 180# as I recall.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the link to the article. I have read that before and it is a good read. I also agree with you that a bike is more than the material of the frameset.