Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there any difference in aerobic effort in gear choice. E.g. In a low gear I am peddling faster to cover the same distance at the same speed that I cover with less revolutions in a high gear. In the higher gear, though the cadence is slower, it requires a different effort. It seems to me that the effort would equal out in energy required? Anyone have any research on this?

·
Resident Curmudgeon
13,390 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'm guessing if everything being equal, e.g. terrain, speed, wind, etc., is the same. it would take the same amount of energy spinning or mashing. It takes a certain amount of force to move an object from one place to another at a given rate of speed. Doesn't matter how you do it.

·
Steaming piles of opinion
10,520 Posts
Mr. Versatile said:
I'm no expert, but I'm guessing if everything being equal, e.g. terrain, speed, wind, etc., is the same. it would take the same amount of energy spinning or mashing. It takes a certain amount of force to move an object from one place to another at a given rate of speed. Doesn't matter how you do it.
True for machines, a bit less true for humans. What you say is perfectly true from the crankarm on. But as we pedal, we need to lift the weight of our legs with each pedal stroke - an energy cost that doesn't propel the bike. Higher cadences mean we need to spend more on that motion per unit distance covered.

For that and some other reasons, high cadences are slightly less efficient that lower ones. However, that small efficiency loss is usually worth it, because the muscles fatigue much more quickly under high loads. It's all about finding the happy middle spot for the conditions, fitness, and recent exercise history.

·
Registered
3,375 Posts
danl1 said:
But as we pedal, we need to lift the weight of our legs with each pedal stroke - an energy cost that doesn't propel the bike.