Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to cycling, have 150 miles this month logged on a new bike (Giant FCR 3) bought at LBS. The only thing I've changed out are clipless pedals.

Specs: http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-US/bikes/women/1254/29455/

I've noticed for the last 50 miles or so that shifting up or down into specific gears seems to cause them to "hang" (for lack of a better term) then lunge when they finally catch.

I have no idea what the correct terminology is, but here's my best description of what's happening:

I'll be in the middle gear of the crank (2 on the left shifter), and I'll want to shift up or down into 3 or 4 on the right hand shifter. It will often make a chan-ga-chan-ga-chan-ga-chan-ga noise when I attempt this specific gear range. I can lightly press on the right hand shifter to drop it down into an easier gear, click up to a higher gear, OR if I don't change the gear, it will continue to make noise then spontaneously lurch into a lower gear throwing my cadence off or worse (dangerous riding when not in control of the pedals).

This results in me doing a changa-change shift up down up down lurch dance when going up hill. Not fun.

Is this a mechanical issue that my LBS can fix, or user error on my part not properly shifting? If I hear that changa-changa noise, does that indicate something is wrong?

Thanks for the help.

· Does it matter?
760 Posts
since you just bought the bike from a local shop, don't they have a free 30 day tune up?

If not, what you describe sounds like you may need a little more cable tension. The cables stretch a little when new. you can try and give the rear barrel adjuster a turn out 1/4 - 1/2 turn and see if that solves the problem. Here's where you need to turn, see the picture.

also Park tools has all kinds of useful info on bike adjustments.

http://www.parktool.com/repair/

· Fat'r + Slow'r than TMB
10,086 Posts