Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How and when do you form the spoke so it goes straight into the nipple?
Right now I have a wheel laced with the spokes loose and I can't really put a bend in the spoke near the nipple. The spokes are CX Rays so they are really floppy which makes it even more difficult. I not sure if there is going to be a way to do it once I start applying tension.

Thanks

·
Registered
47 Posts
I'm no expert wheelbuilder, but I don't think you should have to bend the spoke at all. The nipples should come out of the rim at a slight angle to accommodate for the angle of the spoke. It will vary with different nipples and rims. Sapim actually advertises the fact that their nipple design allows the nipple to exit the rim at an appropriate angle, as I mentioned above.

http://www.sapim.be/index.php?st=products&sub=nipples

·
Registered
891 Posts
After the wheel is laced you can use a screwdriver or pen and push down towards the rim on all the spoke crossings to help the spokes align. Later, when the tension is getting higher, you can squeeze the spokes that are crossed close to the nipples to help with the spoke angle. You can also push the spokes close to the hub at this point to remove any bends and keep the spokes close to the flange.

·
Registered
136 Posts
If it is an aluminum rim, and the bend is bad enough, I fully tension the wheel and then take a dead blow hammer and tap the spoke right next to the nipple. This will be enough to ensure that the spoke exceeds its elastic region and permanently deforms, removing any residual stress that may have been present prior to deforming the spoke.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I found I could take a loose spoke and place the threads on a flat surface and then place the round part of a screwdriver blade just above the threads and pull up on spoke and get a slight bend in it. Not sure if this is a good way to do it.