Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all. I'm completely new to CX, coming from a mtb background. Anyway, looking for a bike and found a screaming deal on craigslist, for a Ridley Crosswind. From what research I have done, it seems that Ridley sizing is a bit different than other bike makers, and I am trying to figure out if it is worth wasting my time, and the seller's time, to check this bike out in person.

So, my question is for guys riding Ridley frames who are about 6'-2": What size frame are you riding?

Thanks, I've already learned a ton just from lurking here.

CB

· Hucken The Fard Up !
4,605 Posts
Ridley sizing is Seat Tube center to center.

I am 5'11" I allways rode a 56cm traditional geometry bike, I ride a 57cm sloping geometry road bike ( which has an actual top tube of ~56cm )

I ride a 54cm Ridley Cross, that has an effective 54cm ST c-c and also an effective 54cm TT ( they have a horizontal top tube and traditional cross geometry )

I have it, set up with the handlebars-to-frontwheelaxis 2 cm higher than my road bike and 2 cm shorter handlebars-saddle tip.

I feel this as a good fit for cross where you need to be a little higher and your weight a little more centered.

both my road and cross bikes have a 11cm stem, same saddle, same groupset.

So as a rule of thumb, get it 2 cm less than your road bike TT preference.

· Registered
104 Posts
I am about 6'2" and have a ridley xfire in a 58cm. My other cross bike is probably a 60cm, and I just got fitted for a new custom one. My fitting on a fit bike, a 60cm tt, 73cm saddle tip to hood was what felt and looked good. The ridley seems short in the tt, at 57.5cm, but I like a longer tt personally. I guess it depends on what you like, what you are used to and how your body is proportioned.

· Registered
20 Posts