Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Cross Bike Collector.....
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to cross, and just built up my first cross bike. Most of the crossers I'm seeing are all sporting Tubies. What is the advantage of running tubies? Besides the obvious of lower tire pressure and less chance of pinch flatting. And if you have them does that mean you have another wheelset with clinchers to train on? Do any of you use your tubies all the time? and what do you do when you get a flat? Is it worth getting tubies if your just a beginner and getting into sport? Please help with advise........

·
Registered
2,227 Posts
You can do fine with clincher tires. Many of us use clinchers for training and have a second (or more...) set of wheels for racing, myself I have a couple different sets of tubular tires for different conditions. if it is rocky where you race, I'd steer clear of tubulars, it's awfully expensive and time consuming to replace a blown tire. They are a little nicer because you can run them at a lower pressure. I use them because I already have a lot of tubular wheels around that get used all road season, so I just buy some tires. I had five flats last year at $50 a pop, tubulars can be an expensive hobby...

Just get some clincer tires and see if you like the sport, then maybe consider tubulars at some future point.

·
Registered
635 Posts
Yeah, like Jeremy said. Give it a try first but be warned, you'll probably get addicted to it & before long you will be forking over $100/tire without thinking about it. ;) Well, maybe not. However, some of us on here are total loons about nice hand made supple tubulars & there will always be a debate about it. Just go ride & have fun with it for now.

Oh yeah, clinchers for training. Old tubbies for training or rocky races & the good ones for everything else. Thats just me.

~Dave

·
Not Banned
49,013 Posts
or

jeremyb said: