Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all ... a few questions for San Francisco residents, as my wife and I are contemplating a relocation. We currently live in Manhattan, Kansas and have never lived outside of the Midwest (although I've travelled extensively).

We know it's expensive, but how expensive? I've re-searched on the Web about cost of living, but I'd like to hear from someone actually living in the City.

Can you subjectively rate the standard of living? (ie cultural opportunities, entertainment etc.)

How is the job market for educated intelligent liberal arts types (you know, smart people with no tangible skills like computer programming or auto mechanic)? My wife is a veterinarian so she's quite employable ... I currently work as a disaffected police officer.

Other random comments also appreciated!

A big genuine hearty midwestern thank ya'll!

Best
Jason

·
aka Zonic Man
593 Posts
j-son said:
Hello all ... a few questions for San Francisco residents, as my wife and I are contemplating a relocation. We currently live in Manhattan, Kansas and have never lived outside of the Midwest (although I've travelled extensively).

We know it's expensive, but how expensive? I've re-searched on the Web about cost of living, but I'd like to hear from someone actually living in the City.

Can you subjectively rate the standard of living? (ie cultural opportunities, entertainment etc.)

How is the job market for educated intelligent liberal arts types (you know, smart people with no tangible skills like computer programming or auto mechanic)? My wife is a veterinarian so she's quite employable ... I currently work as a disaffected police officer.

Other random comments also appreciated!

A big genuine hearty midwestern thank ya'll!

Best
Jason
Well, the riding is outstanding. As for the house stuff, there are a lot of links on the internet regarding cost of living differentials, etc.