Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road biking, and looking for my first bike. I've been a runner for years, and have decided that I'm just not thrilled with the pain running causes anymore. I have an older Cannondale mountain bike and have loved it, and love the frames (most of them) are still made in the US. I think I'd like to get the R700, but I'm really curious how big a difference it is over the entry level Allez bikes? It looks like a difference of almost twice the price to step up to the R700.

I'll be doing some test rides this week, so what should I look for between the two bikes (Allez and R700)? Are their areas that a beggining rider will notice that the R700 is just better in? I'm also thinking about riding the Lemond steel frame bike at the same price level. How does the R700 compare with that?

I figure that this bike will have to last for years, and if the R700 gives me a bike that I can really grow into long term (where the Allez will limit me), then that's a good answer. I guess I'm trying to justify getting the R700 and want to know how to do it :).

Thanks

·
Registered
62 Posts
Hornblower, I was in your same situation about two years ago. As a runner and mtn biker, I was just starting to get a little too old to get banged up with the wear and tear, so I bought my first road bike in 15 years. I looked at a lot of bikes, but narrowed it down to the R700 and Allez. I eventually went with the 'Dale.