Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4,808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope this race report makes sense:

Cat 5 race, 8:00 am.

I've been riding tues/thursday hammerfest for 3 years now?... I definitely know more people to talk to and who is involved in racing, etc....

Within the last 2 years, there is this 24 yr old guy who's really improved (and I've improved too). I've been thinking about the idea lately of helping out someone who really deserves it if I ever had the chance (like this guy).. I mean we both could have settle for 10-15 position s in mid pack. But why not give it up my chances and get someone I know a higher spot?

I'm not on his team, but the tues/thurs ride is practically their team ride...and I usually am just trying to hang on (which I've managed in the last month or so)..

Well, I saw him at the beginning of the race today.. and lined up with him..he only had 1 team mate, down from 3 that had signed up. So we were talking some.. just chit chat..

The race course is 11 laps, 14.3 miles.

Well, no major surges, no primes in the race (womens race had a prime like every lap, WTF?).. anyways, people seemed to pull for a little, but give up quickly.. I saw some guys trying to pull off the front, and EVERYONE ELSE TRYING TO FOLLOW HIM AND KEEP HIM PULLING HAHAHA).. Come to about lap 8, I find him the guy in the group.. he asks what my strategy is... I told him straight up, I'm going to lead you out. As I was saying that - things got really tight, and we leaned on each other.. never had that happen b4.. but we straightened up and the field relaxed and we had room again.. He replied something like, OK COOL. So it was on.

So I start moving up trying to find a way to the front, not going too early or anything stupid.

So I'm fighting to keep position on laps 9, 10... and getting a little bit worried that I'm going to mess him up by having us sit too far back... we might have been about 15th?