Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I want to add front and rear racks to my Surly LHT. I'm rather new to this kind of bike and have never had a full loaded bike. I've kind of narrowed it down to the Surly Nice Racks, front and rear or Tubus Tara or Ergo for front and Logo Expedition rear. It's obvious both makers have some different ideas about the ideal rack set. I like the less hulking design of the Tubus, a narrower rear top rack with lower mounts for lower center of gravity, and the front is pretty minimalist and gets the bags really low. Tubus seems to have a a good name behind their products.

The Surly's are sure indestructable. You gain a top rack for the front. I question whether I would even want to carry anything up there for handling issues. :idea: Both front and rear racks are huge and wide. When not loaded with panniers, I'm questioning whether I want to lug around all that girth. I've read some things about the Nice front being a little overly complex to mount. Maybe not an issue on a LHT. They look pretty tank-like which I like.

I want the option to go fully loaded if I want to, but most of the time the panniers would be used for commuting or overnight camping trips where I wouldn't be packing all that much weight.

Any help or feedback from you experienced at this would be greatly appreciated. I'm used to bags that are no bigger than a rolled up inner tube and and a pair of tire irons so this is a change.

brewster

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
The score is 5 votes for Tubus, 0 for Surly, and 1 for DIY.

All good points presented here. The reason I'm laboring over this decision is that it's $200 bucks either way for racks and I only want to do this once and not regret it later.