Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I am a brand newb.

I find I am MUCH more comfortable (wrists, hands, and back) if I sit up straighter but cannot really reach the bars this way, only with my fingertips. This equates to about 2-2.5 inches. I have looked at some options for doing this, but I cannot figure out the pros/cons of each.

I have a Giant Escape 2 with a threadless headset and it appears all my spacer rings are already being used.

Do I need a different stem, or a stem riser? Why is one better?

As an aside: I am a fat 40-year-old guy that really just sits around most of the time. Now I find I want to ride all the time, think about riding while at work, and leave my lovely wife behind in the evenings to go ride. My first ride was only 2 weeks ago. What is happening to me?!? It's pretty much weirding me out!

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
You probably need a different stem, and it would probably be wisest to get help at a local shop.

It's great that you're getting so excited about cycling; it could be very good for you, and a lot of fun.

But don't neglect your wife ;-)

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
Did you buy the bike at a shop where they fitted it to you? Take it back there and explain what you want.

Or take it to any shop and tell them what you want.

You can buy stems or extensions but since you're new at it the sport you could use some expert guidance.

Newbies do all kinds of crazy things like this: View attachment 282892

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I bought the bike used so I could get into the hobby and then figure out what I really needed, learning as I go. I would never have started if I went with the recommendation of $650+ bikes I got from several stores, even though I saw the value the LBS provided.