Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Assorted ramblings after commuting for 1 month

I think I spent more on new equipment and repairs than I saved on gas. (New tires, tubes, wheel tuneup at local LBS, 3 pairs bibs, 2 jerseys, helmet, messenger bag, bar tape, cleats, shoes and a bunch of other junk)

The first day I rode my average speed was 13.8 and today if was 16.7

Shortest distance to my day job is 12.75 miles but the route I settled on is 14.11 miles and is quicker

I have lost almost 10 lbs. since I started commuting

Messenger Bags are better than back packs to haul your stuff

I am a wimp and should ride in the rain instead of driving

No flats ... so far (now I am totally jinxed)

Carrying a laptop sucks

On the days I work my second job bartending it is kind of strange riding the streets of Boston late at night on my way home

The Minuteman bike path from Cambridge to Lexington is really dark at 2:00 in the morning

I have almost been hit by more cyclists on cell phones than car drivers on cell phones

I have found a whole new appreciation for the early morning weather outside

Cyclists who use mirrors are no longer to be shunned but emulated

My closest encounter with death was when a dump truck on Mass Ave in Central square ran me off the road and up over a granite curb into a group of people cause he didn't see me

·
Registered
8,116 Posts
Congrats--- that was probably the easiest way to drop 10 lbs. I don't look at commuting for the economy of it, but rather the health benefits, being outdoors, etc.

I agree that other cyclists often pose more of a hazard than cars. I ran a wrongway cyclist off the road the other day. It was bad enough that he was riding the wrong way, and I as moved further right, he moved even further to his left. I never understood that.

If you bike in the rain, waterproof shoe covers are a great help, as are fenders... and a decent rain jacket.