Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting into racing and would like a book to more or less help me train to be better in addition to what the team does, I am a noob so I feel like I have to play "catch up" if I want to be involved in racing next season(collegiate cycling), or in just in general. I guess there would be no harm in trying some crits over the summer. From reading another post someone was talking about Edward Borysewicz (I think?) and I found Bicycle Road Racing: The Complete Program for Training and Competition I am open to any suggestions.

· Registered
1,326 Posts
Thanks for the info. I just ordered it. I have been training too hard and my level of committment is growing to the point that it is ridiculous for me to not know what I'm
doing. I think this forum is more in line with where I want to end up concentrating, not
so much obssessing over bikes (steel vs cf), components or etiquette or worse yet,
how many grams everything weighs. Frankly, I don't understand why this (and coaching)
are not the primary posting forums. Shouldn't the ultimate objective of cycling be improving
your physical performance? I am guessing most of the sophisticated cyclists on this site
have already read a dozen books and have moved past this educational stage.

· Banned forever.....or not
24,573 Posts
"I guess there would be no harm in trying some crits over the summer."

Ride more and read less. Learn by racing. Learn by crashing. Learn by going off the back after the first 5 minutes. Learn by finishing with the field. Learn by sprinting to a top five finish.

· Registered
21,834 Posts
Build your library

slowtrevor said: