Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

· Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well all I'm asking for is what brand of Road Bike should I get?
I am a newbie to Road Cycling so help me out!
There the specifications on like 20-speed or 12-speed whatever that is, which I need info on what the heck that is too. =D

How can I choose the right Road Bike? Also, what bikes are you guys personally using? I'm looking for a Good/Pro bike that's affordable. 1,000 Range.

· (not a real racer)
484 Posts
That's a hard question. Sounds like you need a trip to the local bike shop. I wouldn't be too set on brands though. Go with what fits you, what feels good and is in your price range. The folks at the LBS will help you with all that, that is if they are a reputable shop. I was dead set on getting a Specialized but I walked out with a Cannondale because it fit me way better. A lot of it "just depends"

· Registered
5,196 Posts
It's actually called "due diligence"

BoootyHoIe said:
Ah I see. I guess I can't find anything for myself. All I have to do is go to a Local Bike Shop and have them do the work.
I will say this, you will be getting a much bigger bang for your dollar than someone buying a $1000 bike a few years ago.

It is not a simple process. You really do need to educate yourself before buying so you know what you are actually buying and where corners are cut on full bike purchases. Saddles/ seatposts/ bars and stems and wheelsets are where corners will be cut. Don't misunderstand me, when i say corners cut I mean the parts are perfectly usable and safe to use, but what good is the saddle or bars to you if you don't like their fit or feel? So the MFGer of the bike realizes this and put's a generic part on there that he bought in bulk at a discounted price and keeps his profits up.