Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using Ultegra (9 spd) for the past 5 years. It is wearing out. The rear del. pulleys drag...I priced new pulleys...they wanted something like $40 for the set. I thought that was ridiculus. So, how do I determine which new rear derail. to purchase? I like the idea of moving to Durace- both for weight and bling. I see that there are several options. Can I use a "10 spd" derailleur on a 9 spd system?

·
Does it matter?
751 Posts
AlanS said:
I have been using Ultegra (9 spd) for the past 5 years. It is wearing out. The rear del. pulleys drag...I priced new pulleys...they wanted something like $40 for the set. I thought that was ridiculus. So, how do I determine which new rear derail. to purchase? I like the idea of moving to Durace- both for weight and bling. I see that there are several options. Can I use a "10 spd" derailleur on a 9 spd system?

Search some more.Looks like you can get a set of Ultegra 6500 pulleys here for $22.

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/RD610Z00-Shimano+Rear+Derailleur+Pulleys.aspx

·
Registered
21,637 Posts
Clean & lube?

AlanS said:
It is wearing out. The rear del. pulleys drag.
Is this after you took them apart, cleaned everything, applied a quality oil, and reassembled? I've seen pulleys get sloppy, but it is rare that they develop excess friction.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
But...

Kerry Irons said:
Is this after you took them apart, cleaned everything, applied a quality oil, and reassembled? I've seen pulleys get sloppy, but it is rare that they develop excess friction.