Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm an absolute newbie planning to upgrade from a POS falling-apart second-hand mountain bike to a hybrid commuter bike. I primarily use my bike to commute 11km (6.8 miles) to campus on relatively-flat roads. I'm 6'1" and ~230lbs.

I'm looking at three bikes that different LBSes in town have suggested:
  • Trek 7000 ~ $400
  • Marin Larkspur ~ $500
  • Norco Monterey ~ $600

Does anyone here have any experience with these bikes or advice regarding them? I'm just too inexperienced to tell the difference, other than the price and what's pretty.

I'm also not wedded to these bikes if something else in the general price range is better. The three LBSes I've been to sell a lot of Trek, Marin, and Norco bikes, respectively, so I've got a lot of flexibility within these brands.

Any advice is most welcome and appreciated.

Thanks! :)

· Registered
257 Posts
Trek 7000 has Shimano Tourney parts (or thats whats shown on the website). Bleh. Thats very low level stuff, and I've found that difference in quality between Tourney and everything above it is far greater than Acera-Deore etc. I'd test ride the Larkspur (nice bike) and the Norco (never seen one) and see which one feels better.

· Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
Malicious_Adversary said:
I'm an absolute newbie planning to upgrade from a POS falling-apart second-hand mountain bike to a hybrid commuter bike. I primarily use my bike to commute 11km (6.8 miles) to campus on relatively-flat roads. I'm 6'1" and ~230lbs.

I'm looking at three bikes that different LBSes in town have suggested:
  • Trek 7000 ~ $400
  • Marin Larkspur ~ $500
  • Norco Monterey ~ $600

Does anyone here have any experience with these bikes or advice regarding them? I'm just too inexperienced to tell the difference, other than the price and what's pretty.