Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been running Continental 4 Seasons (25mm) year round for a while now. I don't have any problems with them. In fact they have honestly been fantastic.

However, I'm curious to give tubeless a try, just to see what it's all about. The problem is I don't know much about tubeless tires and the setup.

My wheels are HED Belgium Plus. I am currently using Velox cloth tape.

I know to convert I need a tubeless compatible tape, valves, sealant, etc... I was thinking I'd just keep it simple and go with an all "Stans" setup for this.

Now I just need to find a good tire that suits my needs.

First and foremost, since I'm a newb to tubeless, I'd like it to be fairly user friendly (as much as possible for a tubeless tire). I don't want to have to futz with it too much to get it set up.

I'm a big guy (6' 5" ~235lbs), and am not interested in a high performance race tire. Something more.. substantial and durable. I ride a lot of miles (~6k so far this year, headed towards a goal of ~10k), so durability is also on the list of 'wants'. I don't ride in inclement weather often, but it's not unusual to get caught out in a rain shower now and then, so wet weather is also a factor.

Basically, I'd like to find a tubeless tire that is similar in features to the Conti GP 4 Seasons, but it seems most of what I'm finding are more performance oriented. The Schwalbe One pro caught my eye, but I'm not sure how durable that is?

Edit to add:
I found this review that seems to confirm that the One Pro is a good choice, but I might be compromising durability. Might be worth a try for a first timer.
Schwalbe Pro One tubeless tires review - BikeRadar USA

Any other suggestions?

Any 'lessons learned' to share?

Edit2:
Any guidance in rim tape width for tubeless on the Belguim Plus? I think the inside width of the rim is 20.5mm. Should I go with the 21mm wide Stans tape?

·