Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started physical theropy. Rt knee chondromalatia (spelled wrong). It seems to be under control.
Right knee strain on the back side. They have been usnig ultrasound to help healing. So far I haven't done anything for the right knee. I was wondering what you guys have done in PT that has helped you with cycling.
thanks

·
BS the DC
1,422 Posts
b987654 said:
I just started physical theropy. Rt knee chondromalatia (spelled wrong). It seems to be under control.
Right knee strain on the back side. They have been usnig ultrasound to help healing. So far I haven't done anything for the right knee. I was wondering what you guys have done in PT that has helped you with cycling.
thanks
I'm a doctor, I own two rehab clinics and employ two physical therapists. If I understand you correctly, you are saying your pain under the knee cap is fine now, but you are still having pain in the back of the knee. Where exactly? What makes it hurt? Did you have an MRI?

Generally speaking, bicycling is one of the best tools for knee rehab. We use it on almost all knee patients. That said, doing hill intervals or centuries is not knee rehab. Your cycling should probably be limited to short easy efforts. You should probably be doing some specific stretches and exercises, electric stimulation (interferential), ultrasound, heat/ice.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
here goes

rt knee kinda behind and towards the top of the patella. that on isn't bothering me as much. they said it was chondromalatia. left knee is a strain on the back side that is tight and hurts when my leg is fully extended and my toes are pointed inward and I try to do a leg curl. I have cut way back from around 15 hrs/week.
I only notice it during part of the pedal stroke, like 4 o'clock to 7. And it doesn't hurt alot, it hurts more just walking around.

·
BS the DC
1,422 Posts
b987654 said: