Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Trek 1.2 and became a serious cyclist 1 1/2 years ago.
I am self taught in everything is there a site that could help me make sure I am doing things right with pedaling, hills, etc, etc.
BTW: I am already 4000 miles into my sport/hobby

Thanks,
Jim

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
I like Sheldon Brown a lot. He was more of a touring/commuting oriented rider and tends to be pretty practical and not terribly fashion conscious, without going as far as Grant Peterson.

Check out sheldonbrown.com. There are a fair number of articles specifically targeted at beginner cyclists.

·
Registered
7,345 Posts
Congrats on doing a great job of riding on your own, I think you'll do good at this sport.

Sheldon Brown is great but he doesn't have a lot of training info, so below are some sites for that, but read the Brown site.

My World From a Bicycle: Heat management or how to race when it's hot out.
Abs Workout (1) – Bicycle Maneuver or Bicycle Crunches by MunFitnessBlog.com
CYCLING PERFORMANCE TIPS -
Pedaling Technique and Drills Summary
Training

There are gazillions of sites on the internet and books at the library you can read. Some of those sites above are about racing, you don't have to be a racer to use them, it's all about getting stronger and better while riding and those tips do that without having to get to racing form...unless you want to.

And of course once you start doing that stuff and have questions simply come back here and ask the crowd, we welcome that stuff, and for most of us no question will be considered dumb, though as in any crowd you always have a smart aleck or two, just ignore them.

·
Registered
9,666 Posts
I'm not trying to dismiss reading about it and being self-taught......but I really don't think there's any substite for riding in a group with more experienced cyclists and would suggest that.