Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I pulled a spoke through the rim this week. I'd like to rebuild the wheel but I can't find a paired spoke rim to use. I'm thinking of replacing it with an equal spaced rim.
What I want to do is lace one side conventional 2 cross, and lace the other side with unequal length spokes, either 1 or 2 cross. I'm confident I can build a stable wheel, but I'm not sure how to go about calculating the spoke lengths. I don't want to write my own spoke length calculator. I'm hoping to find a calculator I can modify, or maybe I'll just lay it out on paper and and do it graphically. (I'm an old engineer, so I know how to do drawing.)
Any other ideas?

em

·
Adorable Furry Hombre
31,670 Posts
Call the manufacturer and source an (overpriced) replacement. The hubs you have are designed for paired spoking...and using a standard rim may or may not result in you meeting the pavement at high speed in a most painful and spectacular manner.

·
Registered
615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My first choice was an exact replacement rim, but I can't find one at any price.
I'm not worried about the reliability of the thing. An equally spaced wheel is stronger than a paired spoke wheel, all else equal. You can build a 24 spoke wheels with a 32 hole hub and it will work fine. I'm just looking for an easy way to compute spoke lengths. The first problem is too accurately measure the offset of the paired spokes. Then it's just a lot of calculating, which I hope someone as already done and wants to share.
Maybe the best solution is to build it with the old drive side spokes, then lace the other side radially with shortened the non-drive spokes

em

·
Registered
150 Posts
You can use a spoke calculator to figure out lengths at various crossings. So if you want to have the leading spokes x1, plug in that and calculate lengths. Likewise with trailing spokes x2.