Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
First off-this is an excellent forum full of lots of great advice from dedicated folks who are obviously passionate about the sport. I can't think of a better way to get motivated than by reading many of your posts. Kudos!
I was an avid recreational cyclist as a teenager and college student, but then I graduated, started working got married, had kids, and just basically got busy with life (sound familiar?). Goodbye biking.
Now here I am, 40, out of shape with no legs or lungs. The only thing going for me is I'm slim ("a fat man trapped in a skinny man's body").
I really want to get back into the sport. I live in a small town which has an active cycling club, and I am on the brink of shelling out some cash for a nice bike (time to treat myself), and I need to get started.
My concern is that its a little intimidating to just 'join in' with the local club when I'm pretty sure I lack the skills and stamina to keep up. Do you have any tips or ideas on how to integrate myself back into the sport, then maybe into a club?
My own thoughts are to spend perhaps the rest of this summer getting used to bike, saddle and clipless pedals by myself, while getting some easy miles in. Any advice on how to build up a base ?
Or should I just show up at the first Tuesday night club ride??
Vague questions, I know, but I think you get my drift-I really want to make a successful start to this, feel confident, and be inspired and motivated to keep it up.

Thanks very much.

Ron

· You're Not the Boss of Me
7,749 Posts
It is hard to know without knowing the personality of your club. Coming to a group ride with poor group riding/handling skills plus out-of-shape could get you dropped off the back and an unhappy outsider in some clubs, while others will be happy to help bring you along in your cycling.