Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like to return to riding a road bike after a seriously long absence and have started to look at my options (boy have things changed in the last 20 years and at the same time stayed the same).
I'm the type of rider who will go out and ride hard for 2-3 hours, rather than be out all day on a century. I like putting my head down, pedaling hard and going fast.
Spending the last couple weeks researching, I've found a few bikes that I really like. I know ultimately it will boil down to fit, but I'd love to hear some opinions on whether these are good choices and whether they fit my style riding.
I'm 5'-7" and 155 pounds. Average build.

So the 3 bikes I'm considering are:

Felt F5

Look 566

Fuji SST 3.0

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
This is a comment on the Fugi SST. I have been selling bikes for 22 years, and i dont like this bike. Not because the bike is bad, actually it is a very nice bike. I just don't like the seat mast/ cutting thing involved. I have worked with one of these and unless you set the cap that holds the seat firmly on the mast, it rocks. So you have to absolutly have to be spot on on your cut.

Like i said, its just me on that one. I perfer a standard seat post that can be adjusted. Especially as you are a returning cyclist, you might want to start with the seat a little lower and then raise it as you regain your "legs"

Then again i'm a grumpy old pain in the butt. LOL LOL LOL But i have seen things like this come and go and i'm not convinced that seat masts are a good idea. To little gain and to much to lose.

Bill

·
Registered
296 Posts
First let me say welcome back to the scene and welcome to RBR.

2nd are you sure you wanna start off with any of the high end bikes after not riding for 20yrs ? Its your money and your choice, im just curious as to why those bikes

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Biker Dude said: