Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just returning to riding after a break that lasted about 8 years. One thing I have noticed is that the same rides seem to be harder for me now. Obviously this is a result of age, weight and being out of shape. I can't do anything about the age but this is the year to work on the other two. My work schedule and other obligations limit my ride times as I am sure it does for many of you. On a good week I can get in about 3 rides.

What recommendations can you give to make the most out of the limited time I have. Thus far I have done nothing specific other than to try and get out when I can. Thanks for any suggestions that may help.

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
I started riding again nearly 3 years ago after a 20 some year break (I'm 47). Bottom line, you just need miles for a few months. I would avoid getting into intervals and high intensity stuff until you get a foundation built. Given that the nice weather is now here many places, avoid the temptation to be pushing yourself with other riders for a while. Perhaps later in the season, you can begin to push it.

·
Registered
5,358 Posts
Of course the old rides are going to be harder! You're fat, out of shape, and old!

I also came back after 8 years off the bike, at age 40. It took a couple years before I felt like I was any good, and I'm still not what I was when I was 31. I'll never be; even discounting age (I'm 45 now), I won't train as hard as I did then. Maybe if I hadn't burnt out on riding and had kept training I'd have deterioriated less, but between 31 and 45 there's bound to be some loss of performance.