Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you prefer to ride ?
With Friends....Alone ?

The reason I ask is that I am fairly new to road bike riding. I started last May so been at it a year. Last year after starting I found a few guys that I know that ride quite a bit. I rode with them a couple times last year and it was fun to have some one to hit the road with....for me anyway.

This year I have communicated with them a couple times about riding. They said sure....well get together sometime and that's as far as it went. I can't seem to find anyone to ride with so I just go alone.

Long story short...

Why is it so hard to find someone to ride with ?

Would you rather ride alone or with someone ?

In general it seems like to me the cycling crowd are a bunch of loners....would rather ride alone.

·
Registered
11,089 Posts
there are plenty of venues to ride with groups...shop rides, charity rides, singles meet-ups...

check those out if you want to ride with other people.

·
Registered
4,494 Posts
Well, since you're a newer cyclist, you may not be as fit as the other cyclists or may not be into the type of road riding they're doing (speed, distance, technical skills). If they're courteously declining rides with you, don't take offense; sooner or later you'll find either compatible riders or you'll become compatible with more experienced riders.

Until then, continue to ride.

·
Registered
478 Posts
I like to go alone. Go when/where you want, as hard as you want, for as long as you want.

The one advantage of riding with others is hopeful they are just a little better than you and forcing you to push yourself and grow a little bit each ride.

When I started I had 3 buddies and we were all pretty well matched. Pushed each other. Rode a lot. Then one got married and the other took up golf.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·