Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went for a ride with seven other riders. 6 were very strong and fast (well faster than me!) It was an interesting experience but I have some questions.
Drafting - one of the guys told me to draft behind him. I have never done this before and I was not sure about it. It seemed to take an awful lot of concentration on my part to keep in the correct place. Will this decrease as I get stronger or have more experience?
also how do you see the potholes and bumps coming when you are drafting and yes he was trying to point them out to me.
Corners - when you come to a right turn should the group go around single file or is it common to pull out and then back in line? I did not want to cause a crash. We were going at a pretty good clip and most of the roads required single file because of traffic.

I did not have a computer on the bike I was on but during the ride I asked one of the guys about the average he said we were averaging 19mph. We went for around 20-25 miles I think. I was really at my top limit to keep up with them and was back a bit most of the time. My average has been 16 mph so jumping to 19 was a stretch. I was trying out a new bike the Specialized Ruby which is faster than my bike.
I think pushing myself to 19 for that distance was a stretch but maybe you have to do that sometimes to get better?

·
Registered
2,597 Posts
Drafting - It'll get easier once you stop starting at the wheel in front of you. With practice it will be second nature. Hope they taught you how not to cross wheels with the guy in front of you.

Potholes, bumps- are not seen, but rather the riders in front of you should point them out which will allow you time to avoid them.

Corners - just follow the line that everyone else has taken.