Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been testing bikes for a couple of weeks now, and I've been able to get the various LBS's to dial in the bike so that I'm very comfortable riding in the hoods, however, I can never get really comfortable in the drops. I often feel like I'm reaching too far to reach the shifters. Is this just a fact of riding in the drops, that you *are* reaching more than in the hoods?

·
Registered
5,061 Posts
the distance is more, but you should still be able to shift while in the drops. You dont want to have to push up to the hood to go to a higher gear at 35mph:eek:

Since I am kind of new to road riding, I also found riding in the drops a little different at first. Now, I can ride in them for a while. It has to do with your flexibility also.

I also descend all the time in the drops. I find I can get my outside foot down easier and lean the bike more in turns. The brake leverage is way better too. I ride mtb mostly. So, one finger braking is all I'm used to.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
sjhiker said:
I've been testing bikes for a couple of weeks now, and I've been able to get the various LBS's to dial in the bike so that I'm very comfortable riding in the hoods, however, I can never get really comfortable in the drops. I often feel like I'm reaching too far to reach the shifters. Is this just a fact of riding in the drops, that you *are* reaching more than in the hoods?
If I'm understanding your post correctly, the issue is not with your flexibility or overall comfort riding in the drops, rather finger reach to the levers. If that's the case, you may benefit from a shifter that has adjustable reach. I know that Sora and Tiagra offer that, but Specialized also offers shims that you can install in 105 (and up) models that will bring the levers closer to the bars.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·