Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Do you ride handsfree?

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Downhill Juggernaut
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, the stupid tricks thread got me thinking about riding no-handed. I'm not that good at it, but I don't think of myself as a poorer rider because of it. When I was a kid I did it all the time, but for some reason that compact frame is just a bit too twitchy for me right now. Sure I can do it for short distances (mainly when coasting), but I haven't practiced doing in for longer distances. There's no way I would do it around others though, I'd probably run them off the road. Some of the guys I ride with can do it quite well, holding a great line at that.

I can hold a line, ride in a pack, and draft without raising an eyebrow with the people I ride with. Am I really missing out because I can't ride handsfree? It's not like I'm grabbing feedbags out on Rec rides...

Not that this will change my opinion or habits, just curious about how many others do this regularly.

·
I am no Guide
571 Posts
I have found that as my bikes have gotten more sophisticated (read exspensive) riding with no hands has become more difficult and as I have gotten older a much less desireable thing to do.

So you are not the only one who finds your bike too twitchy to ride no hands.

·
Registered
19,427 Posts
bikes are inanimate objects...

anthrax said:
I have found that as my bikes have gotten more sophisticated (read exspensive) riding with no hands has become more difficult and as I have gotten older a much less desireable thing to do.

So you are not the only one who finds your bike too twitchy to ride no hands.

they are only as twitchy as the person riding them....

·
Downhill Juggernaut
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
bahueh said: