Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Banned
726 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a new bike coming with a full Rival drivetrain w/ compact crankset. Coming from mountain biking, i'm used to not cross chaining. Does the same apply with Rivals?

Can I use the largest chainring in the front with the largest cog in the back? What about smallest chainring in the front with the smallest cog in the back? When doing this, how do i avoid the chain rubbing on the F. Derailleur?

sorry i'm a noob with road drivetrains, i only have a SS/FG bike.

· Registered
851 Posts
On my Rival bike with compact crank, I can get all 10 rear cogs while in the big ring without rubbing (using the big ring trim feature for the front derailleur). I only use the big-big combination for short periods of time though (such as if starting from a stoplight).

When in the small ring, I cannot get the 2 smallest cogs without the chain rubbing against the big ring (not the derailleur cage). Some bikes may be able to get all of them without rubbing, but it depends on the chainstay length which determines the chain angle (longer chainstay = less severe angle). Also, I think (but haven't rigorously proven it to myself) that with a smaller tooth difference between big and small rings you have less likelihood of rubbing (i.e. a 53-39 or 52-38 would be less likely to rub than a 50-34). I'm not 100% sure on that last point because a couple of different factors come into play, but I'm not particularly interested in working out the geometry right now :)

Asad

· Banned
726 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll have a 50/34, so i may have some rubbing of the chain on the 50t ring when on the small cog in the rear?(depending on chainstay angle/length?

But when riding on the 50t ring, i can ride at the largest cog in the rear without any damage to the chain?

· Registered
851 Posts