Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to the road biking thing and i just setup a road bike for myself.

Where do you want the shifters mounted on the drop bars? In the middle of the curve? DO you want the lever itself to be perpendicular to the ground or do you want the whole assembly up higher so you can take avantage of the hoods as handles?

are there any rules here?

I just taped my bars after the build and realized that i might have them too far into the curve but im new to road biking so perhaps that is the way they are suppose to be. Id imagine you want the ability to brake from the hood and also reach the lever from the curve in the drop position....

· Registered
10,161 Posts
brand?

I'll assume Shimano, but their hoods are shaped a lot differently than SRAM or Campy. Regardless of the brands, the transition from the bar to the brake hood must be comfortable to you hand. Campy and SRAM should have a relatively flat transition with the bar and I insist that the portion of the brake hood, where my palms rest be horizontal or angled up a couple of degrees, otherwise your hand will want to slide forward, putting too much pressure on the crook of you thumb. With Shimano, the hood may form more of a V shape.

If you place the shifters too far down on the curve, it increases the drop and reach. Then you'll end up wanting a higher rise stem or more spacer under the stem and a shorter stem. Shimano brake hoods create a longer reach than Campy or SRAM, so you probably don't want to add even more by placing the shifter low on the bars.

Here's a picture of how NOT to do it. The levers aren't really mounted too low (notice the V shape between the bars and brake hood), but the bars are rotated down and these bars also have a lot of rampdown, which places the hoods lower than the top of the bars.

· Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·