Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

Im new to the bike forums and Im in need of some help so someone please help me.

Height is 5'9 3/4 with out shoes
Inseam is 31.25 with out shoes
Torso lenght is 26in
Arm length is 25in

Now I tried adding things up on the chart but I cant get a stright answer what kinda frame do I need with the right standover people are saying you need 1in or more from crotch to top tube is it really needed or important? Also is that with shoes on or off when standing over the bike im guessing on! So I went to a LBS and they said a specialized 56 is for me but another LBS said a 54 and a buddy told me 52 but I think 52 is too small! Now this would help alot if you guys can kindly help me with some answers here.I got on my buddies new 56 specialized allez comp and grabbing the hoods and looking down at the bars the bottom front hub of the wheels was behind the bars and I seen a video saying that with your hands on the hoods looking at were the bar clamps the hub should be seen under that not in front and not behind for a proper reach is that correct?
here is the video!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAl_5e7bIHk

So I hope I listed enough informating to help someone help me get an answer

This would be for a road bike and so far what im looking at my LBS is either the 2010 specialized allez comp in flat black with carbon seatstays e5 or getting the framset of a specialized 2010 sl3 s-works tarmac in black carbon and build it up give me your feed back.

Much Thanks:thumbsup:

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
RTUNED87 said:
Hello Everyone,

Im new to the bike forums and Im in need of some help so someone please help me.

Height is 5'9 3/4 with out shoes
Inseam is 31.25 with out shoes
Torso lenght is 26in
Arm length is 25in