Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know proper frame sizing is preached here, but what happens if you ride a smaller frame? I'm a good 6'0 and have ridden a ~52cm bike (it was free...) for the last three years. Now I’m in the market for a new one but since I’m still a student I can't afford much. There is a good 55cm road bike in my budget range and I am seriously considering purchasing it for commuting and weekend warrior trips. Am I going to seriously damage my body (back especially) continually riding small frames? Thanks

·
Registered
11,555 Posts
Late in the 19th century, a physician in Austria warned against all bicycle riding on the grounds that riders could develop what the good doctor called kyphosis bicyclistarium - the dreaded "cyclist's hump." While this proved to be bunk, the warning was picked up by the popular media and became another die-hard bicyle myth. You're not going to do damage to your back riding recreationally on a bike too small for you.

However, why the question? Sounds like you're set to buy the 55cm bike, which almost certainly will be a better fit for your 6-foot body and allow you to ride longer in a bit more comfort and ease.

·
Banned
6,492 Posts
Sometimes money outweighs fit...

You already know the fit lecture: It's the most important thing, never buy a bike that doesn't fit, etc. etc. It's good advice...but a lot of us began riding back when $5 was a lot of money to us, and you don't always get to choose your equipment. You're presumably a young guy, infinitely bendable (that will change, just you wait) and I can't see how you'd do any permanent damage by riding a bike that's too small under the conditions you mentioned.