Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a new road bike to use for general riding & fitness and also a few sportives. I dont think i will be racing at all but may do some more competitive based stuff in the future depending on how fast I get.
I have been cycling road for about 18 months only really getting into it properly since mid last year. I currently have an older Spesh allez with a few upgrades and it rides ok but cant help but notice how heavy it feels and slow to accelerate up climbs. I also ride a giant defy as a winter bike or for slower paced rides. I know theres loads of people saying how i should focus on getting fitter and quicker but having a good (looking) bike is important for me and I am always doing adjustments and servicing my bikes as i love having everything working perfectly.
I really want something with racier geomtery as the defy is really too relaxed for my liking. Ideally a second hand or maybe new ish frameset would be ideal as I have decent training wheels and a fairly new shimano groupset off the specialized. However its probably easier to buy a complete bike and better value so either way would be fine by me.
I was thinking about a carbon frame but would like to know people thoughts in regards to how they ride compared to alloy frames. I know my specialized gives a lot of road 'feel' compared to the giant which makes it feel more lively but slightly less comfortable.

·
Banned Sock Puppet
14,411 Posts
Not sure what the exchange rate is right now, but unlikely you will find a new carbon bike below $1,800USD, and that is with Tiagra, not 105. The highest end aluminum bikes are almost as light as carbon. The main advantage to carbon is the lack of annoying road buzz.

Some good choices with aggressive race geometry to explore depending on how much you want to spend:

http://www.cannondale.com/en/USA/Bi...parentid=be69932e-bbe8-4f5c-9a1d-b3a386243e89