Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to road biking and have noticed some interesting things and wondered if y'all had some input/explanations.

1st: Why does it seem that most cyclists stop at stop signs/stop lights when it is obvious that no vehicle or person is traveling with the green light?? I've gone past several little groups of riders looking like automatons while they wait for the traffic signal to tell them it is "OK" to proceed. On several occassions I believe I've heard curse words hurled in my direction as I speed off into the distance. Is this some kind of unwritten rule?

2nd: What's the story with drafting when you are not in a group? Is it OK to pull in behind someone and steal their effort? I've had this happen to me on several occassions and my visceral reaction is a negative one. Not sure why, but I think a general aversion to freeloading is part of the answer. Also, I find if I fart, the slacker usually takes the hint.:D

3rd: Why do some riders in packs wear the exact same outfits? Were they at the same bike shop sale?

·
Registered
5,358 Posts
1. Running stop signs/light looks bad. My rule is that I'll do it if no one is around to see (i.e way out in the country). Otherwise I play nice in traffic.
2. Out on the open road, it is polite to ask if you can sit in behind another rider. In races of course it is expected. A century ride is not a race, but it is somewhat expected there as well. It is good manners to pull through and do some work. I prefer to have strangers ride side by side and chat, but if someone asks nicely and it is obvious that I'm stronger, I'll pull them around.
3. members of the same racing team.

·
Registered
263 Posts
Answers