Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Game on, b*tches!
13,467 Posts
BS, mostly. While I'm not a guitar expert, at all, how could you not include Richard Thompson? BB King? It says that it included blues in the list, but I'm not seeing many, if any.

·
Shirtcocker
60,639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Kram59 said:
BS, mostly. While I'm not a guitar expert, at all, how could you not include Richard Thompson? BB King? It says that it included blues in the list, but I'm not seeing many, if any.
and people like Greg Ginn are good at what they do I'd hardly consider him in the top 100 of all time.

Same with Ron Asheton--influential yes--technically great? No.

·
Fini les ecrase-"manets"!
9,416 Posts
Standouts:

Hendrix
SRV
Jimmy Paige
Richard Thompson
Warren Haynes
Tom Verlaine
Dave Gilmour

The "WTF" list (AKA the "was it that hard to get to 100?" list):

Robert Johnson? Has anyone who voted on this list actually HEARD his playing? I'm a blues fan, but I just don't get it.
Jack White? Not yet, man. Not yet.
John Frusciante? Who made this list? 20-year-olds with no long-term memory?
Lee Ranaldo and Thurston Moore? Apparently you don't have to actually PLAY the guitar, just make noise come out of it.
Joan Jett? If playing rhythm in straight-ahead rock counts, and they need a girl on the list, why not Chrissie Hynde? She's way better.

The "If the WTF people made it, why not _____" list:

Elliot Easton of the Cars
Vinnie Zummo most often with Joe Jackson
Tuck Andress of Tuck and Patty
Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown

I could go on. Let me just say that while I understand that these lists are subjective, many of them seem to be put together either by people who know nothing about guitar playing, or who know too much for their own good, winding up with lists that are weighted too heavily to big names and flavor of the month, or guitar-mag hacks like Blues Saraceno and Ingwie Malmsteen (and if you insist on putting the J in his name, your a moreon).

·