Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I come from the MTB world. I bought my first used road bike. Seller threw in a set of Aero bars to the deal that were laying in the garage. He said they didn't really fit the Carbon bars (see picture below) on the bike but I could have them any way. This is where I should have listened.

Got home and made/manipulated the Aero bars to fit. I think the Aero bars look cool and they seemed to be nice option to adjust position. After my first ride I noticed the Aero bar mounts were digging into the carbon bars so I took them off (see picture). I was disappointed to need to remove them but needed to prevent any further damage.

Like I mentioned I am a rookie road biker.

So who rides with aero bars, why, should they be reserved for a specific type or riding? Are there any available for my style of handle bars (FSA Carbon with flat tops)?

View attachment 280379

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I inspected it pretty good. No real cracking or deep punctures seen. Pictures look worse then it really is. Mostly the top layer (clear coat maybe???) that it's rubbed into.

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
Bars need to be rated appropriately to accommodate clamp-on aerobars. Clamp-on aerobars puts different stresses and stress concentration on the bars which can lead to premature failure if not designed for the purpose. CF bars are good and nice but their structural integrity is easily comprised by dings, digs, scratches and crashes. There may be CF bars rated for clamp-ons but I don't know of any. I sometimes put clamp-on aerobars on my Deda Zero100 aluminum bars, which are specifically rated for it.

I'd be very concerned about the integrity of your bars after having put aerobars on them and seeing the damage.

·
Registered
23,036 Posts